Back to the Basics: A Refresher

ImageI’m going to post answers to the THREE most common questions I’ve been asked over the past few years.

QUESTION ONE: “What brand of herb/supplements should I buy and how many should I take of each?”

ANSWER: When I started along the anti-inflammatory path, I focused all of my research energy on “what” to take rather than spending time doing any sort of brand comparisons.

For instance, when I first learned about the benefits of curcumin, I started taking whatever brand the health food store happened to have. If they had several brands, I would choose one at random (probably based solely on the packaging).

I now know that curcumin, because of the difficulty our bodies have to absorb its beneficial elements, varies a great deal from brand to brand. In fact, there are now companies producing a “super absorbent” curcumin, that I wish I had known about when I started out.

As far as the dosage goes, I suggest that you always start with the recommended dosage stated on the label. After awhile, when you become more in tune with your body, you can add or subtract as you feel is necessary.

Also, it’s important to keep in mind, that you don’t have to take the exact supplements or herbs that I recommend on my website. ANYTHING that helps fight inflammation is highly recommended. There are many new herbs and supplements I’ve discovered along that way that I wish I’d known about. I would have added some of them into my daily intake.

For instance, I would have definitely taken Systemic Enzymes if I had known about them. Later in my recovery I started taking another powerful anti-inflammatory called astaxanthin. There are many other anti-inflammatory herbs and supplements on the market that can help you.

I highly recommend that you go “outside the box” and try a variety of anti-inflammatory supplements and herbs – ones that feel right for you. Create your own personal cure.

ImageQUESTION TWO: “How long will it take before my legs start feeling better?”

ANSWER: There is no standard recovery time. Recovery is something that is unique to each individual based on a massive list of factors including lifestyle, diet, size, stress level, genetics, environmental issues, alcohol intake, prescription drugs being taken etc.

 

 

QUESTION THREE: “I have very extreme RLS and am beyond repair.”

ANSWER: I guess this is not really a question, it’s more of a statement, but one I hear over and over again.

ImageSure, we’d all like to have the worst case of RLS in the history of the world. If you’re going to have it, you may as well be all alone on the top of the mountain.

However, the true nature of the “disease” never changes … no matter how much worse you think yours is compared to everyone else, it all comes down to this simple formula:

LESS INFLAMMATION = LESS RESTLESS LEGS

The key to success, as I’ve eluded to in Question Two, is to determine WHAT is causing the  inflammation in your body, especially your legs. In other words, what is going on in your life or diet that is causing cell damage?

So, no one is ever beyond repair as long as you’re willing to put in the work.

To find out what is causing the inflammation in your body takes a lot of experimentation. Yes, there are many obvious foods and beverages that have to be eliminated, including coffee, alcohol, sugar, excessive salt, and many other goodies … but for some cases it goes even beyond this.

Maybe you’re like me, and dairy doesn’t agree with your body. Perhaps rice, eggs or pasta. Maybe it’s strawberries?

All of us that have RLS, whether mild, or extreme, have to find out through our own personal life experiment, what agrees with our body and what doesn’t.

As you’re able to discover this, your RLS will lessen. It’s basic physiology and the bottom line is never going to change, and is worth repeating.

LESS INFLAMMATION = LESS RESTLESS LEGS

Here’s a good place to start  for some basic information on inflammatory and anti-inflammatory foods.

 

 

2 Comments »

  1. I do agree with all the concepts you may have released in the post. They’re actually effective and definitely will definitely get the job done. Nonetheless, the particular articles are extremely brief for newbies. May perhaps you want stretch all of them a little coming from next occasion? Basically write-up.

  2. rlsottawa said

    The blog is meant to be an overview of the information available at my main website http://www.rlcure.com That’s where you’ll find a lot more detailed information about the relationship between RLS and inflammation. I do my best to keep these posts to bite-sized snippets. In some cases, as with the RLS’s relationship with higher glutamate and histamine levels, I thought it best to divide the information into multiple posts to keep the size of each post down to a manageable level.

    I appreciate your feedback. Please check out the main website http://www.rlcure.com

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

